IMO marshmallows are an underrated snack. Light, airy, sweet, and always fat-free, marshmallows are a satisfying treat you can pop right in your mouth. Unfortunately, most versions of this candy are made with gelatin- a goo made of animal collagen, which is obviously something we vegans avoid.
Finding a locally sold vegan marshmallow that didn’t break the bank used to be a feat of its own. Today we have vegan marshmallows sold in neighborhood groceries, and even store-brand in some cases. Newest on the block is YUMMALLO brand’s gluten-free and vegan marshmallows, sold at WalMart stores. At less than $3 a bag, summer s’mores are aboutta be LIT! (pun intended)
I wanted to try my new marshmallows in s’more form, as what better way to test the quality of melt? While at WalMart I picked up one of the few “accidentally vegan” graham cracker varieties, Nabisco Original Grahams and it was a done deal. I typically have vegan chocolate bars on hand at home, but WalMart does have a couple vegan-friendly options if you’re making the trip. In this case, I opted for the newer Endangered Species Chocolate bars made of simple dark chocolate and oat milk (purchased previously at World Market). The size of the smaller bars makes for the perfect oversized s’more square and a great base for Yummallos!
The Yummallos Vegan Marshmallows are a thinner and taller-shaped marshmallow than those we are used to. This makes for more s’more square coverage, so I am not opposed. I found the marshmallows melt fairly quickly without getting too hot or toasted, which makes for great treat creating. However, I personally like my s’more marshmallows charred. This is a preference I grew to have, due to my lack of patience and distaste for camping. If you set the marshmallow on fire, it is immediately ready and the activity can be over! Now I like my marshmallows burnt, even if they melt super easily on their own like these Yummallos.
How old do you think marshmallows are? The origin of marshmallows is unknown, but their presence dates back as far as 2000 BCE. Ancient Egyptians would prepare treats of mallow root pulp and honey, reserved exclusively for the Gods. Marshmallows as a confectionary candy did not appear until the 1800s, in France. These treats were made of mallow sap, corn syrup, and egg whites. The 1900s replaced mallow root with gelatin, and this is when the marshmallow was introduced to America. Today America is the main consumer of marshmallows and because of it, many overseas stores stock their ‘American Aisles’ with these candy puffs!
Now, where is our toasted marshmallow emoji?
Walmart Neighborhood Market Location: 1421 Coffee Rd, Modesto, CA 95355
History of Marshmallows Reference: Marshmallows – NCA