Vegans deserve a Break!
The UK has been serving up beloved chocolate wafer fingers since they were termed “Rowntree’s Chocolate Crisps” in 1935. Later dubbed the “KitKat”, this confection is now produced globally by Nestle, but in the US is licensed under Hershey. In 2021 Nestle launched a vegan version of the iconic milk-chocolate KitKat in the UK. With its success, vegan KitKats are available in 15 European countries as of 2023, but not yet in the States.
My mother recently helped guide a tour troop in Ireland, and I tasked her with one mission- find me a vegan KitKat bar! Hidden in a quaint shop in medieval Kilkenny Ireland, she found a bounty, and I am now in vegan KitKat heaven.
KitKats were my favorite chocolate treat as a kid! A couverture chocolate coating encases thin crispy wafer layers, presenting a cookie-like confection that is fun to eat and share. The UK’s Nestle Vegan KitKat is made with a rice-milk base and extra cocoa for a plant-based twist, that even reduces KitKat’s carbon footprint by 18%. It has been many years since I have tasted a KitKat bar, so tasting this treat was something I have been counting down the days for. Creamy and sweet chocolate melts in your mouth, while the snap of wafer adds satisfying crunch and balance. To me, this tastes just like a traditional KitKat. I cannot wait until they finally announce the release of this line in the US, because vegans deserve a break!
My vegan Kitkats came from Ireland and successfully made their way to me intact in my mother’s luggage. I cannot personally attest to any retailers that sell them for overseas shipping, but I have seen them online for purchase if you are anxiously awaiting a taste! In the meantime, we can remind US Hershey’s KitKat we are ready for a #VeganBreak!
What nostalgic treats are you awaiting vegan makeovers?
Vegan KitKat Ingredients: sugar, cocoa butter, WHEAT flour, corn fiber, rice syrup powder, cocoa mass, vegetable fats (palm kernel, palm), fat-reduced cocoa powder, emulsifier (lecithins), natural vanilla flavoring, raising agent (sodium bicarbonate). May contain MILK.
The “may contain” or “may be present” statements on products are used where the possible unintended presence of allergens occurs during food manufacturing. This is also known as precautionary allergen labeling (PAL)
Location: Kilkenny, Ireland